UAM News

UAM Foundation Fund Names Alexander to Board of Directors

The University of Arkansas at Monticello Foundation Fund has announced that Terry Alexander of Texarkana, Arkansas, will join its board of directors.

In 1980, Alexander became the first African American to graduate from the UAM School of Forestry, earning a Bachelor of Science in natural resource management degree. He was inducted into the UAM Sports Hall of Fame as an individual and as a member of the 1979 Arkansas Intercollegiate Conference champion football team. In 2021, UAM selected Alexander as the 59th Distinguished Alumnus for his professional achievements and ongoing support of the university. Alexander retired from Weyerhaeuser in 2019. He lives in Texarkana with his wife, Marian.

Alexander joins eleven other members of the board of directors: Gregg Reep of Warren, chairman; Paul Griffin of Monticello; Classie Jones-Green of Pine Bluff; Renea McClendon of Monticello; Jeff Owyoung of McGehee; Kristi Prince of Monticello; Crews Puryear of Tillar; Randy Risher of Houston, Texas; Sean Rochelle of West Fork; Scott Saffold of Monticello; and Harrell Wilson of Rison.

Dr. Peggy Doss, UAM chancellor, and Jeff Weaver, UAM vice chancellor for advancement and chief of staff, serve as ex-officio members.

The UAM Foundation Fund, a subsidiary of the University of Arkansas Foundation, Inc., was created in 1980 to ensure educational opportunities for future generations of students in the state and region. Its purpose is to advance and support educational and other activities of UAM by soliciting donations and acting as coordinator of gifts for the use and benefit of the university.

For additional information or to learn more about giving to the UAM Foundation Fund, contact the Office of Advancement at (870) 460-1028.

UAM News is everything from the University of Arkansas At Monticello.

Related Posts

1 of 136

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend